Last year I went into the festival suggesting that Jezki and My tent or Yours were the ones to be on for the Champion. I was obviously chuffed to bits to see them come in first and second especially as I had supported Jezki. This year is a little trickier. The market has Faugheen at 11/10 and The New One at 7/2. On my sectional timings there is precious little between the two and although I remain a fan of Jezki I suspect The New One would have been a handful if things had gone more kindly for him last year. One thing I am convinced about is that The New One is not a 20f horse. His best trip is this 16f and he does not mind drier ground, in fact given his last run you could argue that he prefers it. Faugheen probably deserves to be favourite but perhaps not to the degree bookmakers have him. If there is a bet in the race then it could well be The New One each way especially if he touches 4/1 where you can then back him heavier EW and lay of the win portion at around 5.1 or 5.2. Given his profile his place prospects look excellent and are certainly less than the even money you will be getting with an each way and win lay leaving only the place portion of the bet to stand. Good luck with Cheltenham although to be honest I will probably have more action on the All Weather this week.
Update – It is 12.50 on the day of the race and The New One is freely available with bookmakers at 9/2 and 5.6 possibly even 5.5 to lay on Betfair

