Sometimes the market gets ahead of itself and I think this has happened with the Eclipse running tomorrow. I just cannot have The Fugue at around 9/4. With rain coming she would be no less than 3/1 with me. I did not think that the Irish Champion last year was much of a race from the point of view of strength in runners and with Treve effectively not turning up at Royal Ascot the POW was very much a rerun of her form with the Magician. The Eclipse looks a more formidable race to me and I expect the 3yo’s to present some stiff opposition. Kingston Hill was huge earlier in the week but is still overpriced at 6/1, I would expect him to go off around 7/2 should they get some of the forecast rain. There are others with credentials and it may be a case of simply laying the Fugue at the current odds. She is a great mare and I like her attitude but the rain and opposition do not warrant 9/4. Sometimes the ante post markets take time to catch up and I expect the market to look different at off time tomorrow.

